The ECT Consortium JPB is responsible for the coordination of admissions between Partner Universities and will follow the policy and procedures provided for each Partner University by the corresponding UAB.

The Programme is open to holders of a first cycle higher education degree (Bachelor degree (min. 180 ECTS), or equivalent) from Programme Countries’ and Partner Countries’ universities, in the field of biosciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, physical sciences and engineering; as such, the relevance of the BSc degree (or equivalent) of the Applicant will be assessed. In cases of doubt regarding the quality of the issuing institution, external advisors will be consulted, in order to establish the status and quality of the institution concerned. In certain cases, the ECT Consortium JPB can verify the student qualifications using Internet search networks, or through the collaboration of Associated Partners.

Proof of proficiency in English is essential (e.g. at least a minimum of Cambridge First Level C is a requisite). Proficiency in French, Spanish and/or Basque is optional.

Specific individual requirements may be established for each Applicant, according to his/her qualifications and prior learning, selected courses and expected academic and professional prospects. These specific requirements will be defined individually, by a mentoring system provided to pre-registered Applicants.

Students will be selected based upon the quality of their degree, the level of the marks obtained in previous studies and the relevance of the competences and skill acquired during the BSc studies in relation to the ECT+ EMJMD programme.

The Letter of Statement (where the Applicant explains his/her background, why ECT+ EMJMD has been selected, and his/her prospects for the future) is a relevant criterion.

Relevance of work experience, motivation, and future career objectives, as well as any additional information provided in the mentor’s report, will also be taken into consideration in reaching a final decision.

Additionally, applicants will need to:

  1. Accept (it may be conditionally) the Revised Study Plan; this is proposed by the ECT Consortium JPB Chair upon revision of the documents, information and Proposed Study Plan provided by the applicant, only to identify the applicant’s academic profile.
  2. Accept the Student Agreement Draft (SAD); this is a non-signed on-line full draft version of the future Draft Agreement which upon acceptance by the applicants is considered as a proof that they know the rules, conditions, commitments, rights and duties, as well as the administrative, academic and economical main questions dealing with the ECT+ EMJMD programme they are willing to enrol if selected. The SAD is not a entailing document. The definitive legally binding Student Agreement will be signed by the selected students and the ECT Consortium JPB Chair in two originals at the time of enrolment or later, and can be revised by common agreement.
  3. Indicate on the application whether they are applying for a scholarship, the nationality (including a copy of the passport as a proof, which is relevant in the case of those applicant with double/multiple nationality; only one must be selected), the residence country (including an official certificated proof; see the PRADO website for details), and a declaration of being in compliance with call-specific regulations (e.g., the 12-months Rule).

Offers will be made only to those Applicants that satisfy the requirements for entry, as set out above, for whom the supplemental information is deemed satisfactory according to the ECT Consortium JPB. All members of the JPB have to agree to the admission of an Applicant, so that there is shared understanding and agreement on the calibre of applicants acceptable onto the Programme. If one member of the ECT Consortium JPB does not wish to admit an Applicant, that Applicant will not be admitted to the Programme.

The ECT Consortium JPB will decide whether any exceptional circumstances, or special considerations, should allow for deviation from one or more of the admission criteria set out above.


  • Programme countries are the EU countries, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Turkey. Partner country is any non-Erasmus+ Programme Country.
  • Participation costs are different for Programme and Partner Country Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Partner Countries count as Partner Country students.
  • Contribution to subsistence costs cannot be provided to scholarship holders from a Partner Country for the EMJMD periods exceeding 3 months spent in any Partner Country.
  • A number of Erasmus+ Student Scholarships are specifically allocated for students from targeted regions of the world.

Therefore, only applicants who declare and demonstrate their nationality (accredited by their passport) are eligible for Erasmus+ Scholarships, according to the following considerations:

  • Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Programme Countries count as Programme Country students.
  • Students with a Partner Country citizenship who do not fulfil the 12-months rule count as Programme Country students.
  • Students with a double nationality (of a Partner and of a Programme Country) must specify, and provide proof of, the nationality under which they submit their scholarship application.

12 Months Rule

  • Partner Country students who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in any Programme Country are considered as Partner Country students. The five-year reference period for this 12-months rule is calculated backwards as from the submission deadline (defined by the consortia) of applying for an EMJMD student scholarship.
  • The 12-months residency rule should not apply to the Partner Country candidates who for various reasons and under various circumstances have sought refuge and received a refugee status in a Programme Country.


The contribution to student travel and installation costs and the monthly subsistence allowance depend on the place of residence of a Erasmus+ scholarship holder:

  • A unit cost per academic year and a distance band of 4.000 km applies to any student resident in a Partner Country (including students with a Programme Country citizenship).
  • Students resident in a Programme Country (including students with a Partner Country citizenship) are covered by a fixed unit cost per academic year.
  • A contribution to installation costs is offered only to students resident in a Partner Country.
  • Contribution to subsistence costs cannot be given to scholarship holders for the EMJMD periods (study/research/placement/thesis preparation) spent in their country of residence.

Therefore, the place of residence must be certified by the applicants on the basis of the provision of the documents listed in the PRADO website. For example:

  • a residence certificate issued in accordance with the candidate’s municipality normal registration rules;
  • a certificate from the candidate’s place of work, study or training issued by the employer or institution in question.
  • IMPORTANT: Both documents must have been issued within 12 months before the submission deadline of applying for an EMJMD student scholarship (March 1st every intake).